top of page

Nicholas Theodore Strub

Nick was diagnosed with Ewing's Sarcoma in September of 2006 and spent more than five years fighting his battle. Nick never let his disease get in the way of his passion for life. He had the warmest smile, the kindest heart, and a great sense of humor.


In 29‐years, Nick touched the lives of so many people; he was a loving husband, caring son, nurturing brother, and best friend to many.


Nick's life, as well as so many others with Ewing's Sarcoma, was cut far too short, but his legacy lives on through the lives he touched. 



Who are we?

The Nick Teddy Foundation was established in 2012 in loving memory of Nicholas Theodore Strub, who died of complications of Ewing's Sarcoma on November 22, 2011.


Based in Nick's hometown of Port Byron, Illinois, the Nick Teddy Foundation is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. All donations made to the foundation will be deductible to the extent allowable by US law.



What is Ewing's Sarcoma?

Ewing's Sarcoma is a very rare form of bone cancer that strikes children and adolescents. Actually, it is a group of four different types of cancer, known collectively as the Ewing's family of tumors (EFT). Approximately 250 cases are diagnosed every year in the U.S.



What do we do?

Nick's family, friends, and a host of caring volunteers contribute their time and efforts to raise money to fund research into treatments for Ewing's Sarcoma, to increase awareness, and to support EFT patients and their families.


Fundraising activities include the Nick Teddy 5k, family fun run, and after party with games, raffles, and silent auction. We partner with local sports teams and businesses to hold fun events for supporters of all ages. T‐shirt sales provide additional money, and promote awareness.


Please see our Brochure for additional details.

Please see our partnership package to sponsor or support our Nick Teddy 5k.



Nick Teddy Foundation Board of Directors

President: Jeff Bloomer

Vice President: Brian Strub

Treasurer: Krissy Strub

Secretary: Darrin Pearsall

Marketing/communications: Nancy Strub

Development: Dennis Olson

At-large: Amanda Anderson

Race Director: Sarah Greim


bottom of page